How I’m Going to Accomplish My Goal.

What I want to accomplish with this blog (and my other blogs) is to write a book on a subject that I care enough about to keep me focused the whole time I’m writing and studying the subject.  To do this I wanted to start with a little brain storming on the subject of writing a cooking book. Notice I said “cooking,” instead of “cook book,” because I don’t want just a recipe book. Which there are many. I would like to create something for people who are not confident or knowledgeable in the kitchen. I want my training to help people gain confidence and skills for the rest of their lives.

Below is my mind map of things I know I do well and can confidently teach to a child. I say child because I want what ever I put together to be understood by all.

cook-book

Another strategy I would like to employ is to have some clear and attainable goals. To do this I’m going to use the S.M.A.R.T. method of choosing goals.

The acronym SMART can be used to provide a more comprehensive definition for goal setting:

S – Specific-A clear and understandable goal. One that could be explained so easy that a child would be able to understand it.

M – Measurable- Able to be measured/tracked by a specific tool with unmistakable results.

A – Attainable- A tangible goal.

R – Realistic- Nothing unattainable within given timeline.

T – Time-Give yourself an exact time and date to accomplish goal.

Since I’m only getting started I’m going to give myself a attainable goal, on a relatively short timeline,  to award myself early. I think doing this would keep me from trying to move on to the “next thing.”

Specific Goal – 50 veiws

Measurable– Check WordPress stats

Attainable– Yes

Realistic– Yes

Time– 50 views in one day until Feb 3rd

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Shaya Moore says:

    Way to go Ian! Love that you are reaching out and sharing knowledge! Proud of you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. bestcooksecrets says:

      Thanks Shaya! I’m happy you took the time to read it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

